Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Finally have a bit of a lull in D2 year! I have a lot to catch up on on the blog. First I’d like to a quick food summary for the later half of the summer.

1. 5A5 Steak Lounge

Yufei and I went here for dinner after I took my boards! They were running a prime rib dinner special at the time, where for $39 you get a soup and salad, a 10 oz. prime rib, and a side. Really great deal and excellent food!

144

146

We also chose to get desert, which was great as well.

147

2. Hakkasan SF

Yufei wanted to come back here for his birthday dinner and I happyily obliged. We tried their Pipa duck which was really good, but I wished that the serving was larger.

151

I also got their selection of house made macarons for dessert. It came with 7 different ones! Enough for dessert and breakfast the next day (don’t judge me for eating macarons for breakfast).

153

3. Shabusen

We were in Japantown and came across this place when looking for a place to eat dinner. It was just okay in terms of food and service. For shabu shabu I still prefer Nabe, which luckily is 2 blocks from where we live.

166

4. Isla Restaurant

Technically it’s in San Bruno, but it’s the first Filipino restaurant I’ve been to (and won’t be the last!). Food was really good with generous serving sizes.

168

169

We were really full already but had to get a halo halo for dessert!

170

5. Outerlands

Been wanting to go to this Outer Sunset brunch spot for a while now, and we finally dropped by after a morning run to the beach. As expected, there was quite a long wait. But the food was on-point and I really liked the decor of the place.

Levain toast:
20140817_140250

Yufei’s dish… some kind of egg dish with rice and pork:

20140817_142615

Savory Dutch pancake:

20140817_142621

They ran out of the eggs-in-jail by the time we were seated, so I’d have to go back and try that!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

