Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’ve been baking a lot this summer since my schedule was so flexible with studying for boards and research, so I wanted to share some of my sweet creations as well as their recipes here on the blog. Get ready to drool!

1. Hot chocolate cookies

P1040143

I found this recipe when I searched for something that had marshmallows as an ingredient because I still had a lot left over from the last time I made fondant. These cookies used mini marshmallows and hot chocolate packages! I also used a mixture of regular and white chocolate chips. These turned out amazing, and they’re best eaten when fresh out of the oven, when the marshmallows are still gooey! Recipe here.

P1040145

2. Salted Nutella peanut butter thumbprint cookies

P1040498

Made these for 4th of July with red, white (sea salt), and blue sprinkles. They were really ricj and creamy tasting! Recipe here.

3. Nutella marshmallow fruit toast

P1040508

I invented this super easy and delicious snack when I was studying for boards. Makes a great nutritious snack or even breakfast! I simply spread Nutella on a slice of toast, topped it with strawberries and banana slices, sprinkled some mini marshmallows on top, and put it in the oven under the broiler for like 30 seconds until the marshmallows are golden and melty. So good!

4. Devil’s food cupcakes with Nutella filling and toasted marshmallow frosting

P1040522

Starting to see a theme in the ingredients? Yeah… I had a lot of marshmallows and Nutella to get rid of. For the cupcakes I just used a cake mix, and then I filled them with Nutella, and the recipe for the frosting you can find here. I made these for Yufei’s birthday and he took some to work and they were a hit!

P1040527

5 & 6. Egg yolk sugar cookies and chocolate coconut macaroons

P1040916

I wanted to make my coconut macaroons (i posted the recipe here a while ago) but they only called for egg whites, so I had to find another recipe that used the yolks. These cookies are what I found! The recipe is here. I didn’t have cream of tartar so I substituted 1 tsp baking powder and some lemon juice instead. They turned out really well; slightly crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside, with just a touch of lemon flavor.

I also wanted to share a kitchen gadget that’s made my life so much easier as a baker – a cookie scoop! Well, actually it’s a set of 3 scoops in different sizes, and they can be used for so many things. I use them mostly for cookies, they create such nice round even cookies! Here’s when I used it for the egg yolk sugar cookies:

P1040915

I’ve also used the bigger size for cupcake batter (to distribute it evenly among cups), and the smaller size for meatballs. Of course, they can be used to scoop ice cream too. You can find them in any store that sells kitchen stuff or on Amazon.

Lastly, a bit of reflection on baking. I’ve always liked to bake, but since dental school started I’ve been doing it a lot more. I think it has to do with finding a hobby that you can turn to when you’re stressed out, something you can escape to. My classmates are often surprised that I find time to bake during finals, but really, it’s a form of stress-relief for me. I’m just really happy and energized when I’m creating something sweet and delicious with my hands, something that I can then share with my friends and loved ones. During a stressful time like dental school, it’s more important than ever to have that hobby, just so that you feel like you have a life outside of school. For me it’s been baking; for you it could be something else. I’ve seen classmates and upperclassmen turning to so many cool and creative outliets: soap-making, biking, painting, jewelry design…. the possibilities are endless. So that’s one piece of advice I would give to anyone entering a challenging time in their life: just find something you love doing and keep doing it no matter how crazy life gets, because it’s what helps you stay sane.

Tags: , , , , ,

