Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’m way too behind on food posts so I’m going to lump several of the restaurants I wanted to write about into 1 blog post!

First up is an Inner Sunset neighborhood gem. I’ve walked past Nabe many times before but never had the chance to eat there until earlier this year. Yufei and I got the sukiyaki with wagyu beef and the shabu shabu with kurobuta pork in spicy miso.

20140601_193050

20140601_193220

Everything was so delicious! Perfect for a cold foggy day (which happens quite often in the Inner Sunset). They make a rice porridge from the left over broth at the end of the meal, which is really good.

20140601_202602

Even though we were really full already, I wanted to try their house made mochi sponge cake for dessert. It had an interesting texture and was quite delicious! Can’t wait to go back there again.

Another neighborhood spot, Baan Thai. This is our go-to Thai place, and their food and service is always great. We usually don’t get dessert here, but I was craving mango and sticky rice one time so we ordered that. It was presented in a perfect heart-shape, how cute! And it was delicious too.

20140411_195652

We went to Roy’s SF for a second time this past spring. The appetizers we got were pretty meh (a soup and some kind of wonton type thing), but our entrees were great. I really enjoyed my scallops with pork belly (a delectable combination!)

P1030999

Yufei’s steak:

P1040001

Desserts!

P1040002

Candybar was one of the places we used to frequent when we lived in Lower Haight. They run Groupon deals once in a while, so the last time that happened we bought one and went back for some cocktails and desserts (so much dessert in this post… oops). Yufei’s ice cream sundae:

P1040009

My lemon and white chocolate:

P1040010

I’ve had quite a number of their desserts and they never disappoint. Definitely a cute spot for a date or just to hang out with friends (they had a lot of board games and cards there too!).

Ramen and takoyaki at Suzu Noodle House in Japantown. A decent ramen place inside the Japan Center, pretty convenient for before seeing a movie at the Sundance Kabuki theatre (which we’ve been going to a lot – can’t beat pre-selected seats, adult only, and alcoholic beverages at the movies!). And anywhere that has takoyaki is a plus in my book.

P1040082

I know this is hard to believe, but up until a few months ago, I had never ordered a steak at a restaurant before. I thought it was about time to lose my steak virginity, so I made a reservation at Ruth’s Chris Steak House during Dine About Town. The DAT deal is pretty good, and the meal came with a salad, a petit steak (extra for upgrade, which Yufei opted for), a side, and dessert. I just went with the petit steak and it was plenty for me. The steak itself was delicious and served on a sizzling buttered plate.

P1040094

And of course, dessert!

P1040097

Tags: , , , , , ,

