Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’ll be the firs to admit it: this quarter of dental school has been hard for me and I’ve whined a lot about it. I’m not going to discuss the terribleness that was microbiology and pharmacology that we had to learn for the most part of the quarter for BMS (Biomedical Sciences, the basic sciences course stream at UCSF); it sucked and I hated it. But there was also a lot more lab-work we had to to do for PRDS (Preventative and Restorative Dental Sciences). We were in simlab A LOT. Lots of nights and weekends. But looking back, I realize how much I learned and improved on my hand skills. I looked at the first amalgam prep on a maxillary tooth I ever did last quarter and compared it to this quarter’s and it was laughable how bad it was (like, really, it’s embarrassing. But I’m keeping it forever as a reminder of how far I’ve come). I was so proud when I waxed my first tooth last quarter and someone on Facebook asked me if if was supposed to go into someone’s mouth. I laughed and said no. But now, I’ve learned how to do many procedures that ARE supposed to go into someone’s mouth. It’s pretty amazing when I think about it, actually. I’m proud of the work I’ve done this quarter, and here’s some of it!

Maxillary and mandibular casts and die with wax-up of #30 (lower right first molar):

P1030232

Close-up of my wax-up:

P1030234

Calss V amalgam restoration on #27 (lower right canine):

P1030236

Class II amalgam restorations on #12 (upper left first premolar) and #14 (upper left first molar):

P1030244

Class II amalgam prep on #30 (lower right first molar) and class II amalgam restoration on #18 (lower left second molar):

P1030247

Gold full veneer crown prep on #3 (upper right first molar):

P1030264

Acrylic temporary crown on the same tooth:

P1030267

P1030270

Class II preps on natural teeth:

P1030277

Looking forward to learning more procedures next quarter!!

Tags: ,

