Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Yufei and I are going to New York for a few days over my spring break next week and I’m so so so excited. This would be the first time I’ve properly been back in NYC since graduation almost 2 years ago (my NYU interview doesn’t count… I barely had time to do anything). As much as I like living in San Francisco, New York will always holds a special place in my heart. Here’s why:

1. The subway. You know, an actual functional, reliable public transit system that gets you where you need to be, when you need to be there. Unlike whatever you call Muni.

2. The subway (and subway station) performers. Steelpan players, mariachi bands, a capella groups, break dancers, string quartets… so much talent all within the subway system. Commutes are never boring.

3. HALAL CARTS. The first thing I’m eating in New York is a good combo over rice. With lots of white sauce.

4. The food in general. Actually, we planned our entire itinerary around food.

5. The fact that it’s where Yufei and I met and fell in love and had a lot of our relationship milestones. Our story will always be inextricably tied to New York.

6. It’s truly the city that never sleeps. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been stuck in SF with nothing to eat at a very reasonable hour of 10pm. That would NEVER happen in New York. The city never feels dead or lonely and you’ll never find yourself with nothing to do at any hour of the day.

7. Columbia. I loved (love) everything about it. Low steps at sunset. The lawns on a warm sunny day. The trees lining College Walk transforming from lush foliage in the summer to golden flurries of falling leaves in autumn, from barren branches wrapped in thousands of sparkling lights in the winter to pink cotton candy-like blossoms in the spring. The hallowed halls of Havenmeyer and Hamilton and the shiny new ones of Lerner and the Northwest Corner Building. And, of course, the people who made my time there so memorable. Oh, and the top notch education I got.

8. Throughout the 4 years I spent in New York, I’ve flown in and out of the city more times than I can count. But every single time I return, when the plane descends and the island of Manhattan comes into view, my heart skips a beat. Every. Single. Time.

9. The fact that there’s nowhere else on earth where life feels more vibrant, magical, and full of possibilities than New York City.

Tags: ,

