Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I love books. I love getting lost in the different worlds of novels and learning cool new things from nonfiction. I’ve loved books ever since I learned to read in English (age 12-ish, for some reason I never read that much in Chinese). Unfortunately, it’s so hard to find time to read for my own pleasure during school. So my gap year between undergrad and dental school was an amazing gift to me in terms of reading books. I wrote about this in a previous post, and here I just wanted to share the books that I’ve read in my gap year (May 2012 to September 2013). I feel pretty accomplished and happy when I look at this list :) I may not have as much time to read this year, but I’m going to try my best to squeeze in a few books too.

Fiction
Paulo Coelho – The Alchemist
Laurie Fabiano – Elizabeth Street
Gillian Flynn – Gone Girl
Sara Gruen – Water for Elephants
Phillip Hawley Jr – Stigma
Neve Maslakovic – Regarding Ducks and Universes
Karen McQuestion – The Long Way Home
Carlos Meza – Silicone
Kyle Mills – The Immortalists
Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus
Haruki Murakami – Sputnik Sweetheart
Haruki Murakami – Kafka on the Shore
Robin Sloan – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore
Wendy Nelson Tokunaga – Falling Uphill
Wendy Nelson Tokunaga – Midori by Moonlight

Non-Fiction
Izzeldin Abuelaish – I Shall Not Hate
Zac Bissonnette – How to Be Richer, Smarter, and Better-Looking Than Your Parents
Susan Cain – Quiet: The Power of Introverts
Charles Duhigg – The Power of Habit
Nora Ephron – I Feel Bad About My Neck
Nora Ephron – I Remember Nothing
Joshua Foer – Moonwalking with Einstein
Malcolm Gladwell – The Tipping Point
Malcolm Gladwell – What the Dog Saw
Malcolm Gladwell – Outliers
Malcolm Gladwell – Blink
Reid Hoffman and Ben Casnocha – The Start-up of You
Meg Jay – The Defining Decade
Mindy Kaling – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?
Maria Menounos – The EveryGirl’s Guide to Life
Randy Pausch and Jeffrey Zaslow – The Last Lecture
Oliver Sacks – The Mind’s Eye
Sheryl Sandberg – Lean In
HervĂ© This – Molecular Gastronomy

Tags:

