Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Yufei and I attended the annual Twitter holiday party the week before Christmas and it was a ton of fun! This year, the party took place at the San Francisco City Hall, which I had always found beautiful from the outside but had never been inside. Well, it was just as gorgeous inside!

P1020825

Twitter really went all out this year; they had a string quartet in the main hall, a live band and dance floor in one of the side rooms, and a DJ in the other. This gorgeous tree was on the second level:

P1020828

Lots of drink stations with open bar as usual, and the food was wonderful (here is Yufei at the “savory pies of the world” station). They also had hand-rolled sushi, shrimp and oysters, Chinese steamed buns with an amazing filling (my favorite of the night), and tons of other food options.

P1020819

Everything was so fabulous. The grand staircase and the crowds of partying people downstairs really reminded me of Gatsby’s parties.

P1020831

Here’s a better look at my dress: a BCBG dress I rented on Rent the Runway. This is the second time I’ve used the service and I’m very happy with it. The dress was so beautiful and made me feel like a million bucks. The shoes and clutch are finds from Goodwill. (Also, you might note my curly hair – nope, not from a curling iron: I got a perm!)

P1020834

Last year at the holiday party, there was a photobooth and a professional photographer. This year they had something different that I had actually been wanting to try out: a slow motion video booth! (You can see THE video that started the craze here.)

P1020850

Basically it’s set up like a photo booth, with props and costumes, and they have this uber fancy video camera that can capture up to 6000 fps and they take a really short video of you, like 6 seconds, and turn it into this epic slo-mo video clip. It was so much fun that we went 3 times throughout the night! I will try to post one of the videos later :)

Last photo of the night: in front of the beautiful City Hall all lit up in Twitter blue.

P1020852

What a wonderful night.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

