Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

This is probably one of my favorite things that I’ve ever baked! These coconut macaroons are perfectly sweet and chewy with just a bit of chocolatey goodness. And they’re equally loved by myself, Yufei, and both of my parents, even my dad who’s not a big fan of sweets. I adapted this recipe from a few different ones for coconut macaroons and the result is simply divine. Let me know if you try this and how they turn out!

P1020403

Makes about 20 small macaroons.

Ingredients:
– 1 7-ounce package of coconut flakes (2 and 2/3 cup) (I used Baker’s brand)
– 1/3 cup sugar (you can use less since the coconut is already sweetened; use more if using unsweetened coconut)
– 3 tbsp flour
– 1/8 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/8 cup maple syrup (optional, and doesn’t have to be pure maple syrup)
– 2 egg whites
– 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
For the macaroons:
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
2. Combine coconut, flour, sugar, salt in large bowl. Combine egg whites, vanilla, and maple syrup.
3. Stir in the egg white mixture into the coconut mixture until well combined.
4. Drop by the spoonful onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
5. Bake for 20 minutes or until edges are golden. Cool completely.
For the chocolate dipping:
1. Melt chocolate chips in a microwavable bowl, stirring every 30 seconds.
2. Dip the bottom of cooled macaroons into chocolate.
3. Put onto parchment or wax paper. Let stand at room temperature or in fridge until chocolate hardens.

P1020406

Try not to eat them all in one sitting (trust me, it’s hard)!

Tags: , , ,

