Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

This happened a while ago but I just got around to blogging it now. Yufei and I decided to get lunch at Sutro’s at the Cliff House followed by a hike in Lands End on a particularly sunny day.

P1010576

I didn’t realize it at the time, but it was actually Dine About Town, SF’s version of Restaurant Week. So I decided to get the special Dine About Town 2-course prix-fixe lunch. I got the corn soup with shrimp toast for my appetizer:

P1010579

And cod with a salad for my main course.

P1010580

Both dishes were really yummy and a pretty good deal too. Yufei didn’t see what he liked on the Dine About Town menu, so he just ordered steak frites from the regular lunch menu.

P1010581

They gave him a VERY generous serving of crispy fries, which I shared. It was a gorgeous day out and the dining room looked right out onto the ocean, but too bad we couldn’t get seated by the window.

P1010584

After a delicious meal, we headed out and were greeted with this view of Sutro Baths.

P1010589

The hiking trail started right around this cluster of majestic cypress trees.

P1010590

It was a pretty leisurely hike, mostly flat with a small section of steps, but there were so many spots with beautiful views of the ocean and the Golden Gate Bridge.

P1010598

Isn’t it amazing? I think it’s become one of my favorite spots in the city. It makes me feel so grateful for living in a big city that still has places with such natural beauty!

Tags: , , , , ,

