Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

About time I did an update on the final chapter of my pre-dental life. Last time I wrote about putting down my deposit at UCSF and getting wait-listed at Harvard. And I thought that was the end of it, so imagine my surprise when I got a call from Harvard at the end of May! I had gotten accepted! I was almost ready to e-mail Harvard to withdraw my spot. It was a good surprise but also created quite a dilema for me. It’s the pseudo-problem that any pre-dental student would love to have, to have to pick between 2 great schools. But it was a really tough choice all the same. I’m not going to go into all the factors that went into my decision, but I picked the school that most resonated with me during my interview, the one in the city that is more interesting and fun and offers more opportunities for Yufei’s future, the one that I knew all along what I was going to choose. Can you guess? It’s UCSF! Was it hard to give up on Harvard? Well, a little, though I think my mom was more torn up about that than I was (bless her Asian parent heart). I’m super happy with my choice, and it’s so nice to finally (finally!) have some closure to this whole admissions process. Now I could put everything behind me and move forward.

Speaking of moving, Yufei and I are actually moving this weekend. As soon as I decided to stay with UCSF, we began to look for an apartment closer to school. I really wanted a place that is within walking distance to school, which is very helpful according to the upperclassmen I talked to. It took a few weeks of searching and refreshing Craigslist, but we found a nice little studio apartment only a few blocks away from campus. It’s smaller than our current one-bedroom, but it’s in a nice area and cheaper and – did I mention it’s less than a 10-minute walk to school? I’m going to need all the sleep I can get when school starts. Ain’t nobody got time for commuting in the morning for 8am classes! I’m so excited to arrange and decorate our new place, and I’ll definitely post some photos when it’s all done.

I’m also looking to get involved with doing research at UCSF, and tomorrow I’m meeting someone from a team that uses Twitter for research on various health topics. How awesome is that? I’m really excited to learn more about it and help out. I always knew that I didn’t really want to do lab research again, but I’ve always been interested in the intersection between health and technology, and using social media as a way to survey and analyse health information is very cool. So, yeah, really excited about this opportunity!

Anyway, lots happening in the next little while. I’m a little overwhelmed but also very much energized. After a long year of not really doing much, I think I’m ready to dive into being somewhat busy again (I’m sure I will regret saying this when dental school starts, oh well)!

Tags: , , ,

