Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

A couple of weeks ago, I received a free sample of imPRESS Press-On Manicure from Broadway Nails with an online order of clothes. They’re basically fake nails that already comes with the glue, so you just peel off the backing and press them on like stickers. I thought the concept was interesting and decided to try them for our upcoming trip to San Diego (will blog about that soon!) so I didn’t have to worry about chipping my nails on vacation.

It’s really easy and quick to apply the nails. All you have to do is find the sizes that match your nails (the package comes with 24 nails), clean your nails with the enclosed cleaning pad, and peel and stick. The whole thing probably took me 5-10 minutes. Here they are right after I put them on.

P1010042

P1010040

They were way too long for my liking, but luckily you can cut and file them after 30 minutes. So I waited for a while and did just that.

P1010044

P1010046

Now they’re about the same length as my natural nails and they look great! So let’s take a look at the pros and cons of these nails.

Pros:
– Really simple applications.
– I loved the way they looked. The color (Tweetheart, a classic red) was beautiful and they never lost that shine during the time I wore them. And the nails were pretty thin and flexible and they look very natural, unlike some fake nails.
– They last a long time! The package says that they last up to a week, and mine lasted… 10 days! And the only reason I had to take them off was that my nails were growing out too much, leaving a gap that’s a little too big. When I took them off they were still stuck on there pretty well. I think one of the reasons why they lasted so long on me is that I did cut them down so that they were not catching on anything.
– They’re simple to remove. I had no trouble just peeling them off from my nails.

Cons:
– I had to spend some extra time cutting and filing them to the length I liked. But if you like your nails long, you don’t have to worry about that.
– They were still a little long than my natural nails when I applied them, so a little bit of the glue/sticky stuff was showing on the underside. Fibers and dirt got stuck to it and it was a little annoying to pull them off all the time. But if they were the exact same length as my nails this would not be a problem.

So the verdict? I loved them! I mean, they’re not going to replace my regular nail polish or anything, but for special occasions when you don’t want to worry about your nails, they’re a great option. They sell for around $7, which I think it’s a pretty good deal. Some people have complained that they think this is too expensive, but think about it, a salon manicure costs at least twice that much and there’s no promise of chip-free shine for a week even then. I will definite consider these again in the future, maybe for our next vacation in Mexico? I’m not sure how well they will fare in water, but if I do use them for the beach and pool I will find out!

Tags: ,

