Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Polka dots are such a cute and fun print for spring! I wanted to get some polka dotted jeans or denim shorts, but then I realized that it would be so easy for me to just make them myself. Doing full-length jeans was a little daunting, so I started with a pair of denim shorts I’ve had since high school. It’s a great way to breathe new life into such an old piece of clothing!

Project: polka dot denim shorts
Difficulty level: easy

Step 1: Gather your materials. All you need is a pair of shorts (or jeans or skirt or whatever you want to polka dot), a ruler, and a white paint marker. I used this one, which I got 2 years ago when I painted these sneakers for Yufei.

P1000860

Step 2: Measure and start drawing dots! You can put a piece of cardboard or something under the fabric just in case the paint bleeds through to the other side. You only really need a ruler for the first row you’re doing. I made my dots 1 inch apart. After the first row, you can just eyeball it and make the next row of dots shift over so that you make little equilateral triangles between the dots.

P1000861

Step 3: Keep dotting!

P1000863

Step 4: You might want to go over the dots twice so that they show up better. Here you can see that the bottom half of the shorts have 2 coats of the paint, while the top only has one. It’s up to you; if you want a more faded look you can just leave it at one coat.

P1000864

And that’s it! Now I just need the weather to cooperate so I can wear these cute shorts!

P1000866

P1000865

This is a very simple DIY project, though it could be a little time-consuming. I worked on mine off and on for about a day and a half. And there are a number of ways you can add the dots. I used a paint marker, but you can also use acrylic paint and a dotting tool (like the eraser end of a pencil) or even bleach pens.

Tags: , ,

