Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Okay, so I talked about some of my new hopes and wishes for the new year, now I want to be a little bit more specific and talk about my new year’s resolutions in terms of beauty and skincare. More and more I’m starting to realize the importance of taking care of my skin, especially considering now is probably the best it’ll ever look (a bit depressing, isn’t it). Anyway, here are some of the things I’m starting to add to my routine this year.

1. Moisturize better.
This encompasses several things. A couple of years ago, I never even bothered to moisturize my face at night, only in the morning. But my skin gets quite dry overnight, so I started using the same moisturizer I use during the day (L’Oreal Active Daily Moisture Lotion, it’s discontinued but still available from Drugstore.com) at night. However, I learned recently that I need to use something different at night. Why? Because my daytime moisturizer has SPF, and it turns out that your skin needs a break from the sunscreen ingredients and it’s better to not wear it all the time. So I got a different night moisturizer (this one) and have been using it religiously.

Speaking of moisturizers with SPF, it’s important to not only use them on your face, but also your neck. So that’s what I started doing. Think about it, your neck is just as exposed to the sun and the skin there is thin and delicate, and that’s often where you see the signs of aging first. I’m also starting to use sun protection on my hands for the same reason.

2. Clean my face better.
This also includes several things. I’ve thought about getting a Clarisonic brush but I just can’t bring myself to spend that much money on it. So I got this little brush instead. It’s only $1 and I was amazed at what it can do! It’s the same type as Lindy of Bubzbeauty uses, and it works great! My face feels so smooth and I’ve been getting fewer pimples since I started using it.

Another thing I started doing is using a toner after I wash my face. I got this one since it was really cheap and 100% natural, and it’s been great. The witch hazel smell took a little getting used to but now it doesn’t bother me at all. (Also you can see how much I love Drugstore.com! It’s awesome. Try it.)

Oh! Another thing I started doing is to let my face air dry after I wash it. Not that there’s anything wrong with towel drying, but I learned that you really should only use face towels once before you need to wash it, otherwise bacteria and other gunk can build up. It’s really inconvenient and not very environmentally friendly to do that, so now I’m trying to change my routine and wash my face before I brush my teeth. By the time I’m done brushing my teeth, my face is pretty much dry. This is great in the morning especially, because the evaporating water cools my face and wakes me up!

3. Take care of my nails and make them look good!
I never even used to do my nails at all until about a year ago. Now I’m addicted! I love taking time out of the day to pamper myself and make my nails look pretty. I finally invested in some more tools and products (a good nail file, base coat, top coat, and nail polish remover) so I can do my own manicures at home. It’s a simple way to make me feel put together and polished (Ha! Bad pun, sorry) every day.

Now it’s your turn! Do you have any beauty and skincare related resolutions or tips? Share them in the comments because I want to know and also because you get a chance to win! Win what? This awesome little beauty pack! One lucky commenter will get:

P1000682
2 mini bottles of nail polish from e.l.f. in black and nude

P1000683
A brow kit in dark from e.l.f. (this is a personal favorite!)

P1000685
NYX eyeshadow in Baby Pink Pearl

P1000687
A mini bottle of 100% argan oil from Josie Maran

P1000688
A booklet of highlighter paper from Mai Couture

P1000689
A small can of hairspray from Sexy Hair

P1000691
A white ginger massage soap bar from Portico Spa

P1000694
An eyeliner brush from Soho Beauty

P1000696
…And everything comes in this cute little makeup bag!

So again, the rules:
– To enter, leave a comment letting me know your beauty/skincare resolutions and/or any beauty tips and tricks.
– Make sure to leave your email when you comment so I can contact you if you win!
– Only one entry per person.
– Giveaway ends Jan. 31 at midnight PST.
– The winner will be randomly chosen the following week.
– This giveaway is for residents of the US only.

Good luck and stay beautiful! :)

Tags: , , , , ,

