Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

You might have noticed that I haven’t really done any outfit posts since my move to SF. This is due to several reasons. One, I don’t really have much reasons to go out most days, so I get lazy and just lounge around in leggings and t-shirts and sweaters all day if I know I’m going to be in the apartment most of the day. Two, the weather, climate, and geography in SF is really hard to dress for. It can be freezing in July and hot in October. It could be bright and sunny in one neighborhood and foggy and cold in another. It’s nice and warm in the afternoon but windy and chilly at night. And the hills make comfortable shoes really important. Many days I just find myself unable to come up with a reasonable outfit for the day. Other days I end up grabbing another layer or a scarf that doesn’t match the rest of my outfit right before I leave. So I haven’t quite gotten the hang of dressing appropriately for this city yet. I’ll get there someday.

That said, here are a couple of the outfits I have managed to capture on camera. This was on an unseasonably warm day in July:

Vintage top from mom’s closet; silk maxi skirt, belt, and sunglasses thrifted from Goodwill; sandals from Aldo; necklace that’s actually a watch from Disney

This is a more typical summer outfit:

Sweater from my aunt; dress/tunic from store in Canada; leggings from Seductions; Bucco boots; bag thrifted from Goodwill; free sunglasses from college career fair

Now that it’s fall and the weather should stabilize to a certain degree of coolness, I hope I can have an easier time dressing. Fall is actually my favorite season for fashion; I just love boots, jackets and coats, scarves, and sweaters. So hopefully I will be doing more outfit posts soon!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

