Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

So now that I finally have a kitchen of my own, I’ve been doing more cooking than I I ever have. In addition to making some of the stuff that are have been in my repertoire for a while, I’ve also been experimenting with lots of new recipes. Here are two twists on the always delicious pizza!

1. Cauliflower crust pizza

Ever since I saw this idea on Dr. Oz (I don’t watch it regularly, but I did used to watch it whenever I was back home from college to pass the time), I’ve been intrigued by the idea of substituting cauliflower for flour in pizza crust. So I found a recipe here and decided to try it. The result was pretty good!! The only thing was that the crust didn’t quite hold together, which is probably because I skipped the step of squeezing out the water from the cooked cauliflower since I didn’t really have any cheesecloth or anything like that. But the pizza itself was nonetheless very delicious (and healthy!).

2. French bread pizza

We had a bunch of French bread lying around and I had no idea what to use them for, so I decided to try to make pizza out of them. I stored them in the freezer since there were so many, and this recipe is perfect for frozen bread since I baked them anyway. The bread wasn’t quite a baguette; it was kind of fatter and shorter so instead of slicing the bread length-wise in half, I decided to just slice them up to get a better surface area to volume ratio. And then I drizzled some olive oil over the slices and sprinkled some garlic spice (love that stuff on almost everything).

And then just add cheese and toppings (I skipped on the sauce to get a lighter taste).

And bake! I didn’t really use any precise temperature or time… I think it was around 400F for about 10 minutes? Just make sure the cheese is metled and the bread is crispy. And viola! A super simple lunch or dinner dish.

Hopefully I will be posting more cooking and recipe posts from now on as I branch out even more in the kitchen. After all, I have a lot of Pinterest recipe ideas to go through!

Tags: , , ,

