Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I had underestimated how painfully long the wait is after you submit your application for dental school. I got my AADSAS application and supplementals all in before the end of August, which is not super early but still reasonable. Then I heard back pretty quickly from NYU with an interview invite – yay! I scheduled it for Oct. 10, hoping that I would hear back from more east coast schools so I can make one trip, but alas, no such luck. There was no communication at all during the whole month of September. It got pretty depressing. But then on Oct. 4, I got a call from the University of the Pacific! I was ecstatic about my invite from them. Since then, still no news from the other schools, and I know that pre-December interview spots are probably all filled up by this point. But I have to say that I am very satisfied with my 2 interview invites (out of 6 schools applied to) and I would love to go to either NYU or UOP.

So I had my interview at NYU last Wednesday. I was very excited about my first trip back to New York since graduation. My friend Jin was kind enough to let me stay with her in her room in an apartment in Stuy Town, which is conveniently located near NYU. I had a very nice interview day; the interview itself was very relaxed and not stressful at all, everyone I met was friendly, and the students all seemed to like the school a lot.

The location of NYU is definitely a plus, and I would definitely be okay with living in New York for another 4 years. It’s strange, but as soon as I arrived in the city, it felt as if I never left at all. Taking the air train, the subways, walking on the streets, it all felt so familiar. I even surprised myself at how I just felt right at home, so much so that I got to my friend’a apartment a whole hour before I anticipated. But on the other hand, when I got back to San Francisco, I had a similar feeling of homecoming. I can only attribute this to my constant moving and my lack of a place I can call my hometown. Only the truly rootless can feel at home everywhere.

Anyways, so now I’m looking forward to my UoP interview in less than a month. I had visited the school last summer when I was staying with Yufei, after I first decided to go into dentistry. I really liked the school back then, and I’m even more excited about it now that I’m actually living in SF. I will do another update after my interview there!

Tags: , , ,

