Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Last Friday, Yufei and I headed to Nougatine at Jean-Georges for lunch. We sat by the window where it’s bright and airy just the way I like and readied ourselves for a 3-course meal! I got the tuna tartare with avocado and radish for my appetizer, which had been lauded by countless Yelp reviews and my friend who recommended the restaurant to me in the first place, and it was as good as everyone says!

Yufei chose the butternut squash soup with mushrooms, which was also delicious and creamy and excellent for bread-dipping.

For my main course, I got the black bass with spaghetti squash in a sesame broth with chili oil. It was also very very good. The skin was nice and crispy, and the sesame and chili gave the dish a punch of flavor. I didn’t realize it but both of my first 2 courses are quite Asian inspired!

Yufei got the cheeseburger for his main course, since that was the only red meat option on the menu (sorry honey!).

And for dessert, I got the pineapple upside down cake with basil ice cream and Yufei got the warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. Both were delicious!

Another great lunch! I must say I’m quite liking the lunch option at pricier restaurants!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

