Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

This is the long-awaited follow-up post to my previous post on make-up for Asian eyelashes! A couple of readers wanted to know how I do eyeliner and eye shadow, so here it goes for eyeliner. I guess this isn’t really specifically targeted at Asian eyes, but as someone who does have Asian eyes this is how I do things.

Ok, so first let’s talk about the actual eyeliner pens/pencils. Here are a few that I use the most:

I’ll just go over them now and talk about how I use them later.

The first 2 are the CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eyeliner. I’ve only ever used the plum and black color, and they are very different. The black goes on a lot smoother and darker but also smudges very easily, and the plum is more subtle and doesn’t smudge as much. And you don’t have to sharpen these – big plus!

The third one down is my favorite liner ever – it’s by MAC but I got it in China. It’s a liquid liner pen. It looks and feels like a very fine felt tipped pen and it’s so easy to use. I believe it’s the Penultimate Eye Liner, but I’d have to try it and see if it’s the same. I love liquid liner pens because they create precise, sharp looking lines and don’t smudge!

The fourth one is one I recently bought – the Waterproof Eyeliner Pen from e.l.f. It’s another liquid liner pen since my MAC one is starting to run out and I’m looking for a replacement. This one works pretty well, the tip is not as high quality (it’s a little harder and rougher) and the color saturation can be a little “eh”, but for only $1 and tons of colors it’s a pretty good deal!

The last one is also from e.l.f., the Shimmer Eyeliner Pencil. They come in all sorts of pretty colors and are soft and go on easily (but also a little bit smudgey). And you have to sharpen which I hate. But they are very pretty and sparkly.

Ok! So now this is how I actually do my eyeliner for just an everyday look. I feel a little silly posting this because it’s so simple. I usually line my top lash line with a pen liner, going right along the lash line from the inner corner to the outer corner of the eye. I always, always, do a mini cat-eye at the outer corner, by extending the line up and out just a little bit. Here I used the MAC liner pen.

What about the bottom lash line? If I’m lazy or short on time, I usually do nothing. But if I feel like doing a little extra, I take a softer pencil liner in a lighter color and line the bottom lash line from the outer corner and extending about 2/3 of the way in. Here I used the CoverGirl in plum.

And that’s it! Here’s another look:

Notice how the top and bottom lines don’t actually meet, which makes for a very simple, subtle look you can wear everyday.

And then you can do variations of this look by using different liners and colors. For example, using the e.l.f. shimmer liner on the bottom creates a really cute and playful look, and using any smudgeable pencil liner on the top can make thing less harsh and softer.

If you want something a little more dramatic, here’s something I’ve figured out how to do just recently. Using a combination of black liquid pen liner and a softer pencil liner, I’ve lined the top of the lash line from corner to corner, and the bottom 2/3 as before. But I’ve extended both lines and joined them together at the outer corner of the eye and again did a small cat-eye.

This will make your eyes look much bigger and brighter and this heavier look is perfect for nighttime!

This look is also great for glasses since I find that they wash out your make-up. What do you think?

I’m no beauty expert by any means, but I hope this was somewhat helpful! And keep experimenting because each person is unique and you never know what looks good on you until you try it.

Tags: , , , ,

