Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Is it really summer? It certainly does not feel like it here in Vancouver… the temperature has hovered around 13 degrees Celsius (which is… for all you Americans… hold on while I look this up on the Internet… 55 degrees Fahrenheit!) since I’ve been back, which is pretty frigid for late May of you ask me. So that’s one reason I’m really looking forward to going to Nashville on Monday (where it will be a sunny 34 C (92 F))!

Oh wait, I never did write about what I’m actually going to be doing for the bulk of my summer, did I? Aight. So. I will be in Nashville, TN for June and July for the Dialysis Clinic, Inc. Collegiate Medical Summer Internship Program (hereafter referred to as “my internship”). I will be serving as a counselor at Camp Okawehna, a week-long summer camp for kids with renal diseases, for the first week of June, and then I will be shadowing a doctor (or doctors? I’m not sure yet) and doing clinical research at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center until the end of July. I am super excited for all this!! So happy to finally do something other than bench research over the summer! And to be able to live in a new city for the third summer in a row! But this means that I will probably never spend a summer in NYC, which is regrettable.

After my internship ends, I will be heading to San Fransisco for about 2 weeks to visit Yufei, who will be interning there at Twitter (how cool is that?! And I don’t even use Twitter… I still think it’s awesome). Really excited for that as well! Since I LOVE San Fransisco and it’ll be cool to spend this much time there, and also because for the first time EVER I will actually be able to celebrate Yufei’s birthday with him in person! (Poor guy, I was always halfway across the globe in the past… sorry).

Then I will be heading back home for the second half of August, when hopefully it will be warmer. And I will be getting my wisdom teeth extracted! Woohoo! Sooooo excited… yeah… not really.

And then I’m going to be back in NYC for… senior year. Dear god it freaks me out just to type it. I cannot believe that I only have a year left at Columbia! Where did the time go? I’m at once filled with excited and fear at that thought… but that’s for a later post (maybe).

So there you go, my summer plans! I’m sure that I will be writing lots about my experiences and have a ton of pictures, so stay tuned!

Tags: , , , , ,

