Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

So, as you may have noticed… I’m Asian. Which means that I have typical short, straight Asian eyelashes. Which makes it very difficult to make them look curly, long, and luscious with anything. This has frustrated me for many years and has led to much not-so-successful experimentation with make-up. But I think that after so many trials, I’ve finally figured it out! Behold, before and after results with only 2 products:

Magical, right? So what are the 2 things I used? None other than the The Shu Uemura eyelash curler and the Imju Fiberwig mascara. The Japanese really know their stuff!

So here is my eye with nothing on. Lashes point straight out.

Step 1! The Shu Uemura eyelash curler. Sephora USA doesn’t carry it anymore, but it looks like you can still get it online. I got mine at Sephora in Canada. This curler is actually pretty awesome. It doesn’t hurt, doesn’t crimp your lashes, and the curl actually lasts even without mascara (I curled my lashes then slept for 8 hours and by the morning they are still curly!).

You can already start to see a difference! Work the curler some more and this is what you get:

If I’m short on time in the morning, I would actually just rock this look. Really natural, but it makes your eyes look so much more awake! But with just a few more minutes… apply one coat of the Imju Fiberwig mascara. (What the hell, does Sephora not carry anymore this either?!)

I love this mascara… it really lengthens your lashes, doesn’t clump, gives a soft and feathery feeling to your lashes, and comes off with just warm water! I got mine on eBay, which is a lot cheaper, but make sure that it’s from a reputable seller. (The Shu curler, on the other hand, should not be bought on eBay – there is a lot of counterfeit ones and it just won’t be worth it). One coat is usually enough for me, and I find that additional coats tend to clump more, but if you want, feel free to add more coats. This is with 2 coats:

And there you go! So easy, right? It literally takes 5 minutes, but the results really are fantastic.

Bonus tips:

1. Some people complain that the Fiberwig doesn’t give enough volume, which I’m ok with, but if you want more volume, after one coat of the Fiberwig, add another coat with your favorite volumizing mascara (I like the CoverGirl LashBlast). Always Fiberwig first though! That way you get length first before volume, and it still washes off with just water since your lashes are coated directly with the Fiberwig.

2. A little squeeze with the curler midway through your day will refresh the curl in an instant! Just don’t overdo it or do it too hard, you don’t want to break your lashes when they’re already coated in mascara.

3. For a more dramatic look, false lashes are the way to go. I actually only use 1 piece of the false lashes each time: I cut it in half, and then use each half on each eye, with the side with the longer lashes on the outside of your eye (does that make sense?). This way they are not as likely to fall off and they will look more natural.

That is all! Woohoo for my first ever beauty post! I’m not a make-up expert by any means, but I hope you’ve found this helpful. Let me know if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions!

Tags: , , ,

