Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Remember the tiered coat saga last year? Yeah, that was because I saw it worn by Robin on an episode of How I Met Your Mother. The girl has great style because now once again I’m lusting after another piece of her wardrobe! In season 6, episode 8, Natural History, Robin wore this gorgeous one-shouldered royal blue dress to a gala:

I was immediately struck by how beautiful she looked (LOVE her hair here too) and how pretty the dress was, but for some reason I never looked it up. But now in the last couple of days I came across some photos from the episode (during my searches for clues about the season finale – but that’s a totally different story), and I knew I had to find the dress! It was actually pretty easy to find, and it turns out to be the La Marocain Dress by Nanette Lepore. A closer look here:

Unfortunately, the blue one is sold out pretty much everywhere (one size 0 left somewhere but I don’t think I’ll fit); it also comes in red and black but I don’t like them as much, and also none left in my size anyways. Sigh. So I do what I always do when I see a piece of clothing I like but can’t get: find imitations! So here I’ve gathered 9 different dresses of similar style. Hope you like them!

1. One Shoulder Short Blue Dress by Jasz

2. Designer One Shoulder Satin Prom Party Evening Dress

Not too sure about the color on this one, but I like the style.

3. Sleeveless One-Shoulder Floral Sequin Pleated Mini Dress by Roberta

4. One-Shoulder Party Dress by Adrianna Papell

This one reminds me of figure skating costumes!

5. Periwinkle Silk One-Shoulder Dress by Notte by Marchesa

This is probably the most similar dress to the original.

6. One Shoulder Party Dress by BCBGMAXAZRIA

I actually LOVE this dress!

7. One Shoulder Faux Wrap Dress by Aidan Mattox

A more casual option.

8. Clarissa One Shoulder Dress by Coast

Lastly we have 2 dresses from British label Coast.

9. Ciara Dress With One Shoulder by Coast

And I saved my favourite for last!! How amazingly gorgeous is this dress?

That is all! Which one is your favourite? I wish I could go to prom again so I can justify buying one of these!

Tags: , , , ,

