Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Okay, so this blog is officially turning into a what I eat, what I wear, and random rants blog. Whatever.

I need to voice my terrible and frustrating experiences as an illustrator for several on-campus publications. (I just want to note now that not all of these complaints apply to all of the publications I work or have worked for). I love drawing, it’s why I do it in the first place. But more and more my experiences are making me hate doing it for other people. Why? Several reasons.

First of all, illustrators are pretty much the lowest of low in these organizations, even though we no doubt make valuable contributions to these publications. Why else have illustrators in the first place? But unlike writers, editors, and other staff, we are consistently marginalized. We spend hours each week working on drawing for these publications, throughout the whole semester/school year. Yet we are barely part of the organization. We are not invited to social gatherings of the organizations. We don’t get any of the perks of being a contributor to this entity. Heck, a lot of the time we don’t even get properly credited for our work! That’s right, I’ve been mis-credited or not credited at all for my illustrations, either in print or online. Shows how much we are appreciated. Then there are the deadlines. Sometimes we get sent a piece to illustrate hours before the deadline. It takes time to do art, you know. And don’t get me started on terrible communication issues. Once, I’d sent several e-mails to an editor asking for information, only to get a response way too late, and my illustration was deemed unsatisfactory, and – get this – the magazine then went on to Photoshop my drawing beyond recognition and never gave me any credit. Mmm okay. Thanks for nothing.

So, the mighty higher ups definitely don’t give a crap about illustrators. So why expect me to take you seriously when I don’t get the same? I think it might be time to direct my time and energy elsewhere after this semester is over.

Tags: , ,

