Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

First week of classes of the new semester is over now. I’m taking 5 classes for the first time in like… ever. They’re not easy classes, but still, fewer than 6 classes for once in my college life. I really need the time to do other things, because school is starting to burn me out. I considered graduating a semester early, which is entirely feasible for me since I only have 31.5 credits left to complete, not including this semester. But I ultimately decided against it, because even though I feel like I’m having a pretty rough time right now, I want to get as much of college as possible.

I’m trying to change some things this time. I’m getting up at 7:00-7:30am every weekday, and on Tuesdays and Thursdays I go to the gym right away. On my way there yesterday I caught the most beautiful sunrise. I had never seen the sun so low in the sky before, shining directly onto College Walk, the shadows stretched on forever until they disappeared into the semi-darkness of the pavement. I think just the possibility of catching such a wondrous sight is enough motivation for getting me up so early. I will try to capture this on my camera next time.

I’m also trying to re-focus on my studies this semester. I don’t even know where last semester went, and I admit I hardly put in any effort in school at all. Most of grades somehow were okay, but it doesn’t change the fact that I just didn’t give a crap. But school is one of the few things I have control over right now, and I need to feel more in control of my life.

Alright, enough with this stuff. Here are some photos from my not very exciting but still too short winter break.

A stuffed minion from Despicable Me given to me by Yufei:

Strange ice formations from the fountain in our fish pond (I thought it was cold back home; New York is so much worse):

My dad’s homegrown organic cherry tomatoes that he was so proud of:

Pretty snowfall the day before I left:

Finally, I leave you with some tablet doodles I did over the break!

Tags: , , , , ,

