Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

The best and the happiest moments in life are those I call moments of clarity. They’re those moments when you feel so completely at peace with the world, when you feel like, despite everyone’s expectations and perhaps even your own, you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be in life. They’re rare moments for me: when I’m huddled under a blanket staring into the vastness of the starry night on the top of a mountain in rural Quebec; when I’m lying on a picnic blanket with my beloved in Central Park; when I’m sitting on a bench on a sunny day in Vienna listening to a busker play the accordion; when I’m having a late breakfast on the balcony looking out to the ocean in Sanya. These moments never last long: sometimes only a fraction of a second and I don’t even realize it at the time, sometimes a few minutes, sometimes a few hours, and if I’m lucky, a few days. But I can imagine how one can live in a constant state of such feelings; no longer moments of clarity but a life of clarity. It’s the kind of life I ultimately want to lead. I want it so badly, yet it has never seemed further away; it’s been a long time since I experience even a moment like that.

