Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

So… my surprise birthday trip this year was to… DISNEYLAND! I had never been to Disneyland before, and growing up amongst my friends in Canada, I always felt like something was missing from my childhood because of that. But finally, in the last few days before turning 21, I finally made up for it! After all the stress of midterms, it was such a fun-filled getaway for 2 days. I was happy and excited pretty much the entire time and now I miss it incredibly much and want to go back. I guess the next best thing would be to relive the experience by sharing it here, mostly through photos (though we went on way more rides than I could post here, so I had to pick and choose). Here goes :)

The entrance to Disneyland Park, all decked out for Halloween!

Pumpkin Mickey:

A street party? Why yes!

We rode Dumbo!

Autopia, where my lack of driving skills became totally exposed:

Mickey, Walt, and the Disney castle at night:

Day 2! Spiky stole my Minnie ears in the morning:

Haunted Mansion Holiday:

Forgot to zoom out for this picture, but I think the result is super cute!

After Splash Mountain, where the titular passport (and my clothes) got half soaked:

Spinning away in a teacup in the Mad Tea Party:

We met Mickey!!

Inside Minnie’s house:

Paradise Pier in California Adventure:

Silly Symphony Swing:

Mickey’s Fun Wheel at night! I loved the swinging gondola!

Toy Story Mania! Waited in line forever for this one, but it was super fun!

World of Color, Disneyland’s new live show with water, lights, fire, and music and video from beloved Disney movies! What a great way to end the night.

The next day we reluctantly left Disneyland and headed back to LA. Not ready to give up any chance to enjoy sunny California, we went to Venice beach to soak up as much sun as we could.

And that was it! After a mad race to the airport and getting to the gate merely 10 minutes before take-off, a feat I’d rather not repeat, we were back to cold cold New York City. We had a super time on the trip thanks to my wonderful boyfriend Yufei, definitely a birthday celebration to remember for years to come!

Tags: , , ,

