Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

It’s been a while since I last wrote about my time here in Vienna, so I thought this would be a good time for a little update. Work has become considerably less stressful since the start of August, thankfully, and weekends have finally freed up. This is basically my last full week of work, since I will be leaving for a 4-day Germany and Switzerland trip this Friday (excited!) and next Friday is the final symposium where I have to give my presentation. So, what have I done here besides work since my last solo outing into the city? Two things on my 100 in 10 list, that’s what!

A few weeks ago, the Summer School program had organized a trip to see the opera Così fan tutte by Mozart at Schönbrunn Palace. An opera! That’s number 43 on my list!

Since all the opera houses are actually closed during the summer season in Vienna, this was a rather informal affair with a modern twist. However, the music was lovely and I really had a wonderful time. I did wish that there were English subtitles or something to really get the nuances in the dialogues and especially the solos.

Then last Saturday we had another trip to see Vienna’s wine country and visit a heurigen, which is a traditional Austrian wine tavern. Wine tasting! Number 52!

But it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, First, we had to hike up this steep hill for about an hour under a very hot afternoon sun, which I was totally unprepared for in my flip flops and sun dress. The view overlooking the city was nice though, as was setting foot in an actual vineyard.

Then we kept going for about another hour before we finally arrived at the heurigen. We were seated outside in a lovely garden, and wine and food were promptly served.

My favourite was the chardonnay :)

An evening spent with good wine and good company can never go wrong.

Tags: , ,

