Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

“You can also wear it as a shirt!” Said the Chinese saleslady desperately trying to get me to buy the white and green floral skirt I was looking at. I laughed it off then, thinking that it was just a last ditch effort to get my business. At any rate, I bought the skirt, and the saleslady’s comment was long forgotten. That is, until now.

As it turns out, the lady was right. With a little creativity, you actually CAN wear a skirt as a dress. This is how it’s done.

So here is the original skirt:

Here it is worn as a top:

This will work with almost any skirt that is at least knee length and has an elastic waistband. Just pull it up to your chest and throw on a belt, pair with leggings or skinny jeans, and you’ve got an entirely new look out of the same garment. Here’s another one of my skirts worn this way:

Oh, and also, a wide elastic belt is probably the best accessory ever.

Tags: , , , , ,

