Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

You. Yes, you. You know who you are.

You’re the one who made me fall in love in this city of 8 million strangers.

You showed me how romantic a corner of a college campus could be, and how a kiss can change everything. The stars are numbered in the New York sky, but they all shone so brightly that night.

You make me feel beautiful even in my worst days. You love making me laugh, as if the sound of my laughter is the sweetest music. You make me happy in ways I can’t explain. When you’re with me, I feel like anything is possible, anything.

You’re the one who’s held my hand through every emotional life crises, and trust me, I know that I have a lot of them. You patiently listen to every little mundane thing I have to say, without complaint. Bringing me back down to earth when my worries carry me too far. You are my rock, my anchor.

You’re the one I know who will support me no matter what. You give me the courage to chase after my dreams. And when I change my mind, you never hesitate to tell me that it’s okay to do so. You make me believe that I can do anything I set my mind to, and that I should set my mind to anything my heart tells me.

You’re the best-tempered and most forgiving person I know. I know that I can be mean sometimes, but you, never. I can be selfish, impulsive, unreasonable, but you’re always there for me with open arms. How can you never get mad at me? Even I get mad at myself sometimes. But you? Not you.

Your sense of conviction is one of the things I love the most about you. I’m not brave enough to have that kind of certainty, but you are. And I’m so glad that you are. Because it’s what keeps me hoping, dreaming, wanting to believe.

You’re my partner in crime; together we have the greatest adventures. We travel across borders and oceans and timezones, seeking new thrills wherever we go. But you know I don’t need that. As long as I’m with you, regardless of where we are or what we are doing, I’ll be having the best time of my life. All I want is one last airport reunion and no more airport goodbyes. After all, more than anything, my greatest adventure… is you.

Tags: ,

