Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Okay, I’ve got a confession to make. I love weddings. I’ve never actually been to a wedding before, nor am I one of those girls who have dreamed of having their perfect wedding ever since they were 5. No, I love weddings simply because they are just so astonishingly beautiful. I love all things design and aesthetically pleasing, and weddings are just that. The colours, the textures, the dresses, the flowers, the centerpieces, the way the whole look comes together… I just can’t get over them. I have a ton of wedding design blogs bookmarked and they always make me feel happy when I visit. I gasp and gush over the prettiness every time, but last night I think I was so awed that I just sat in my chair, mouth agape, and could not believe what I saw. I must share.

One of the sites in my bookmarked collection is Nonpareil, a gorgeous online wedding design and inspiration magazine. The theme of their latest issue is A Silver Screen Soiree, an “hommage to some of the most stylistically influential pieces of the large and small screen.” When I looked inside, my heart just melted.

What wonderful picks for the sources of inspiration! Chocolat, Alice in Wonderland, Lord of the Rings, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Mad Men…. and the following, which are my favourites.

Pride and Prejudice. Supposedly the 1995 BBC mini-series, but really, I’ll take Austen’s world in any way they come. This is seriously so gorgeous.

The only thing missing is Mr. Darcy!

The next feature is inspired by The Great Gatsby… probably my favourite book in the world. Oh the Jazz Age…

Then comes my absolute favourite – Amélie. I think I almost squealed when I saw this. Too cute.

I love the movie and this wedding would be so perfect. And I really want that Eiffel Tower hat box. No, I don’t really know what I would use it for, but I want it. Sigh. So beautiful.

