Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’ve mentioned in passing on this blog about going to Vienna this summer, but never quite explained it in detail. So I’m going to take a break from packing right now and do just that.

I’m leaving tomorrow for a 10 week long research program called the Vienna Biocenter Summer School. It’s held by The Institute of Molecular Pathology(IMB), The Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (IMBA), and The Max F. Perutz Laboratories (MFPL). I will be working in a lab at the IMB, doing a research project involving identifying neurons and circuits in Drosophila. The program also includes lectures, social events, and sightseeing trips in Vienna. I will be living in a double room in a student dorm building.

I think this is the first year they are holding the program, since I haven’t seen any evidence of it existing before. And it was a bit harder to find than some of the other summer research/premed programs. Through numerous methods of research for something to do this summer (internet searches, workshops, etc.), I’ve never once come across it. Until I received an e-mail forwarded to a club I’m involved in at Columbia. I applied to it almost as an afterthought, since the deadlines for all the other programs I applied for have already passed. And what do you know? I’m flying to another world tomorrow.

Looking back, it has been almost a year since I started this blog, and it’s been quite the year of new places. In the past year, through words and pictures, I’ve taken you to… in China: Beijing, Chongqing, Jiuzhaigou, and Sanya; in Canada: Vancouver, Victoria, Toronto, and the Niagara Falls; in the US: New York, Miami, and Washington, DC; and now Vienna in Austria.

New adventures await. Follow along :)

Tags: , , , ,

