Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’ve been cooking a lot recently and I’m loving it. The strawberry cupcakes were delicious and the jam also turned out great! So now I I’ve decided that it’s time I shared one of my own recipes: chicken wings in cola sauce. I’ve seen other versions of this dish that involved boiling in water first, baking, grilling, etc. This one does not. It’s as easy as it gets and it tastes great.

Ingredients:
8-12 split chicken wings, tips removed
1 can or bottle of cola or other soda drink
1-2 scallions, roughly chopped
2-3 gloves of garlic, sliced
1 small piece of ginger, sliced or minced
Vegetable oil
Salt
Soy sauce

Directions:
1. Put chicken wings in a large bowl, sprinkle salt over it and add a bit of soy sauce. Let it marinade for 30 minutes or so.
2. Put a deep pot on the stove and set the heat to high. Add a bit of vegetable oil and heat it for about a minute. Add the scallions, garlic, and ginger and stir fry for a few seconds.
3. Add the chicken wings. Let them cook on high heat for a few minutes until the wings change color and no longer look raw.
4. Add the cola. You need to add enough so that it covers the wings. Bring the liquid to a boil, then turn down the heat just enough to keep it boiling.
5. Keep cooking the wings, uncovered, letting the water evaporate. Stir once in a while to prevent sticking. Cook until the cola is reduced to a thick, sticky sauce. This will probably take 45 minutes or so.
6. Transfer into a plate and let cool for a few minutes. Enjoy!

Notes:
You can make this with any carbonated drink. I’ve tried coke and Dr. Pepper (they didn’t taste all that different). I do suggest using non-diet soda though, since the one time I tried it with diet coke the sauce wasn’t as thick, probably due to the lack or sugar.

Let me know how it turns out if you try this!

Tags: , ,

