Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I’ve been toying with the idea of becoming vegetarian for quite a while now, though this may come as a shock to a lot of my close friends since I’ve never really told anyone about it. But the more I think about it, the less of a far-fetched idea it seems. I’ve never been crazy about meat, I don’t avoid it purposely but I’ve never been much of a carnivore. I already have a low meat diet right now, especially with red meat, and I don’t think I’d miss it too much if I did away with it altogether (this may be proven wrong). A lot of meat products kind of gross me out too, like the chicken and pig feet my dad keeps making at home recently. Besides, I just really love eating fruits and vegetables.

The thought of maybe becoming vegetarian has been on my mind a lot recently due to many things: the aforementioned gross meat stuff at home, the intrigue of reading about vegetarian bacon, my friend Angela taking to me about the paleolithic diet, the documentary Home I watched recently… So I thought, why not? Why not try it? It’s come to the point where I stop just thinking and researching and do something. So here’s the idea: I will try to be vegetarian (lacto-ovo) as much as I can for the 2 months that I will be in Vienna. Sort of a trial period, if you will, to see if I can do it, if I will like it, and how my body will react to it.

This raises a whole lot of questions for myself, so I will try to answer them here, to let you know and to keep it all organized in my own head. So why exactly am I doing it? Mostly for the sake of my own curiosity and experimentation. I just want to experience it for myself. But would I be missing out on Austrian cuisine if I don’t eat meat? What about the Weiner Schnitzel? As you may know, I am a total foodie and I am not ready to miss trying anything at least once. So I think when it comes to traditional foods when I’m in Vienna, I will try at least a little bit, just for the experience (which is why I wrote “try to be vegetarian as much as I can”), no other exceptions. What about after Vienna? That depends on how those 2 months go, but I don’t think I can ever be truly vegetarian for several reasons. First, when I think about my favorite foods, a lot of them have meat in it. I enjoy eating meat, it’s delicious. Second, I don’t believe that meat is inherently bad for our bodies; like most things, it’s fine in the right amounts and my current diet is quite healthy. Third, I don’t think that my family would support vegetarianism, and in most Chinese eyes it would be simply seen as being a picky eater. Lastly, again, it’s about the amount and the method; there are sustainable and ethical farming practices. I might try to cut down my meat intake even more and make a more conscious decision when choosing what to eat though. But who knows, maybe 2 months of vegetarianism will change me.

I will keep you updated and document this personal scientific experiment as I go along.

Thoughts? Advice? Words of encouragement or warning? Think this is crazy? Let me know!

Tags: , ,

