Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Even though I feel like I’m about the only one of my classmates left who is still lounging around and not at some internship yet at this point in the summer, it’s pretty great to have all this free time right now. Summertime like this is perfect for doing all the tings I love but don’t have time and/or resources to do during the school year, such as trying new recipes and doing big art.

While I was in Toronto, Yufei’s mom taught me how to make 煎饼果子, which is a typical Chinese breakfast food made of fried dough sticks wrapped in an egg pancake with sweet bean paste, cilantro, and scallions. It had been many years since I had any, and it tasted so good that I knew I had to make it at home. So last weekend, I bought some fried dough sticks at T&T market and decided to try it out. My dad tried to help me at first, but after the first one failed miserably (the pancake was not cooked enough when I tried to flip it) and I got mad at him, I knew I was on my own. After a few more not so great products, my fourth was finally a golden wrapped perfection:

Needless to say, it tasted delicious. (Actually, the failed ones did too, but they were not so picture-worthy).

Now onto the art! My mom wanted to draw/paint a still life of some fruit for the kitchen of our new house, so I did. I was going to use oil pastels (found a brand new set a few weeks ago when I was unpacking), but decided that the medium is too unfamiliar and unforgiving, so I ended up using colored pencils, with white acrylic paint for the highlights:

Halfway through the drawing I started to notice the the scale of the fruits/veggies looked wonky… the strawberry is giant compared to the pepper and lime! But the reference photo I used was just like that, so… hopefully no one else notices (though one person already did). It felt so good to draw something bigger than a tiny illustration for the first time in ages that I finished the 14.5″ x 11″ drawing much more quickly than I anticipated (my mom was shocked). I’m pretty happy with the piece; certainly glad to know that I haven’t lost my touch after all this time!

Tags: , , ,

