Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Thank you. I know that I don’t say this enough, but I sincerely thank you for everything you have taught me. Thank you for everything that you have done for me.

Thank you for taking care of me. For buying me jelly and chips whenever I was sick as a kid, because even though they were unhealthy snacks, you knew they were the only things I wanted to eat. Thank you for letting me run wild outdoors in my newly laundered clothes every weekend when I was a child. Even though you would sometimes scold me for it, you let me do it anyway.

Thank you for bringing me to Canada, even though that meant you had to leave your amazing job in China that you loved and starting a new life in a strange place where you didn’t know a soul and didn’t understand a word. You did what you thought was best for me, and even though at the time I vehemently disagreed, I see now that you were right.

Thank you for always encouraging me to do my best. Never for an instant did you let me believe that I wasn’t capable of doing anything that I wanted to. Thank you for never forcing me to learn or study. You knew the importance of self motivation. Thank you for never obsessing over my grades. Sometimes I cared way more about them than you ever did. When I sobbed over an unsatisfactory test score, you would always there to remind me that what mattered was that I gave it my best. And even though you would never praise or reward me much for my achievements, I know that you are incredibly proud of me.

Thank you for supporting when I decided to apply to colleges in the States. For buying the prep books I needed. For taking me across the border on early Saturday mornings to take my SAT’s. For driving me to all my interviews in places you had never been to, even though you hated driving in unfamiliar areas. For letting me go to New York when I found out that I got accepted to Columbia. You didn’t want me to go. You said that it was a big and dangerous city, and I would be all alone. But you let me go anyway. Because you knew that it was what I wanted. Because you trusted me; after all, you were the one who had prepared me for something like this all along.

Thank you for always having faith in me. When I felt like giving up and going home last semester, you were the one who reassured me to stay calm, to stay strong. You told me that you knew I had it in me to get over it. I was your daughter, you said, and you knew that your daughter was the best in the world. Thank you for always believing in me, even when I didn’t believe in myself.

Thank you for always making sure that I’m enjoying life. Although you make a point to emphasize the importance of hard work, I know that you want me to have fun too. You roll your eyes sometimes at my sense of adventure, but you never hold me back on doing the things I enjoy. And thank you so much for taking me traveling in China last summer! I had such a good time, and I know that you did too.

Thank you, Mom. For all these things and much, much more. I know that we don’t always see eye to eye, but I just wanted to let you know that I am incredibly lucky to have a someone like you in my life. You are the best mother I could have ever asked for.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Tags: ,

