Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

So I ended up in Harmony for next year. 84 square feet. Oy. Still holding out hope for summer transfer, but I’m surprisingly content about living in Harmony. Currently I’m only 1 of 2 girls on the floor right now, so if I do end up there the bathroom will be heavenly. And I’ve kind of started thinking about the decor for my dorm already, because things like that make me feel happy inside. So I’ve decided that the problem with my room right now is that it’s too busy and eclectic, so for next year I will try to keep it clean, minimalistic, and cohesive. Right now I’m considering a color scheme of green, black, and white, and here are some of the ideas I have.

– First things first, I need new bedding. Right now nothing matches, my comforter doesn’t fit my duvet cover, etc. Besides, having nice new bedding means that I might actually feel inclined to make my bed each day! Ideally, I would love to have this set:


But it only comes with a duvet cover (which will not fit my comforter… I don’t know why it’s such a weird size) and a pillow sham, no sheets. But I just love the beautiful design of it… sigh. So I did some more research and discovered that Walmart, of all places, actually has really good, reasonably priced bedding! Such as this one:

But the one I REALLY love is this:

Gorgeous damask – and it’s reversible! Classy black and white will go with any accent color, so I can use it for years to come. I think I will actually get it for next year.

– Ok next – I want a rug. Possibly this one from Urban Outfitters. Or any old green rug really.

– Instead of putting up my photos randomly everywhere, I will instead do this photo heart headboard:

– A simple banner from Banter Banner. Maybe this one?

– Make over my light to look something like this:

– I want some plants in my room. Might attempt these upside down planters:

Or maybe just get a few of these:

Or make a terrarium like I always wanted to!

– Tape silhouettes of birds made from black/green paper and book pages to my walls.

– Hang strands of paper cranes from my window.

– Maybe a curtain?

Ahh I’m so excited for this! Any other cool home decor ideas? Let me know!

Tags: , ,

