Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Some updates on the roof(s) over my head. My parents just moved out of the townhouse we’ve had since my 7th grade in Langley into our new house in Surrey. It’ll be a strange experience going home to a completely new place that I’ve never seen before. I guess it’s become less and less “home” now that I spend most of my time away from it. Nevertheless, I’m pretty excited about the house, since it will be the first time that my family has had a detached house, besides the one we rented during our year in England. But somehow I have a feeling that our crappy furniture is going to bring down the look of our new abode; even the moving guys commented on how nobody would want to have our ratty old TV stand even if we gave it for free (actually, I’m pretty sure that’s how we got it in the first place). I personally think that furniture is something worth investing in, so this will not happen when I get a place of my own.

Speaking of which, housing selection at Columbia is treating me rather badly. It’s come down to either Wien or Harmony. Time for a pros and cons list.

Wien
Pros:
– Sink in each room
– Bigger rooms
– Newly renovated bathrooms
– Higher floor
– Closer to campus
Cons:
– No floor kitchens
– Not every floor has lounges
Wien pervert

Harmony
Pros:
– Kitchen and lounge on each floor
– Bright lights
– Hardwood floors
– Nice furniture (it’s important I say!)
– Has a gym in the building (this will make working out so much less painful)
– Close to Westside Market
Cons:
– Smaller rooms
– Far from campus
– Lower floor most likely
– Old and slow elevator

Oh and both will probably have vermin.

So there. What do I do? Sigh. Why oh why does it have to come down to this? I’m hoping that a miracle will happen and I will get a summer transfer into a studio single in Watt. Ha.

Tags: , ,

