Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Budget was tight this year for Spring Break, so my boyfriend and I decided to take a short trip to Washington, DC instead of going somewhere more exotic. Despite the long bus ride there and back, a little drizzle on the first day, and lots and lots of walking, I had a really great time there. Photographic evidence below.

Washington Monument.

Lincoln Memorial.

Dinner at this Mediterranean restaurant near our hotel. Food was great but our waiter was hilarious. He was this old man who was very nice but kept forgetting our orders and other things, we had to repeat nearly everything we said to him at least twice.

White House! The second day was gorgeous.

Washington Monument again.

Me and Dumbo at the Smithsonian Museum of American History.

Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. Shark attack!

A Degas at the National Gallery of Art. There were so many museums and galleries though that we didn’t have enough time at all to go through them all, or do a very thorough tour of the ones we did see. A bit sad about that but that’s okay.

Capitol.

US Botanical Garden, so pretty.

Smithsonian Institution.

So there! I accomplished one of the things on my 100 in 10 list! (And I’ve decided that daily flossing and drinking water in the morning are pretty much part of my routine now, so I crossed them off the list too).

I’m feeling a bit blue about the end of Spring Break and wondering how I’m going to get through the next 2 months of school. Summer just can’t get here fast enough. Why do I just want to play all the time and not have to study? Sigh… I’m still a 5-year-old at heart.

Tags: , , , ,

