Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I love the gorgeous necklaces at Anthropologie, but as a poor college student I really can’t afford to spend $80 on one. So what do I do? I made my own! I know that there aren’t really any details on how I did it, but that’s because 1) I wasn’t sure if it was going to turn out well and 2) There’s really a lot of creative freedom to play around with this piece.

So for this necklace, I wanted to make something with lots of eclectic little charms and trinkets, so I was inspired by these 2 necklaces I found on Anthropologie:

I decided on a blue/green colour scheme since I wanted the necklace to have a sunken treasure kind of feel to it. So I looked around my jewelry drawers and came up with a whole bunch of old stuff and parts that I never wear anymore (I don’t know about anyone else, but I never throw out ANYTHING in case I may need it later for a project). I also got some beads, chains, thread, twine, ribbons, etc.

So what I did is I chose the items I wanted to include in my necklace, in this case they were: some random beads, several old pendants, necklace parts, and bracelet parts, all in the theme/colour scheme I wanted. Then I laid them out in the way I wanted them to be on the necklace so I could play around with the layout.

After I was happy with it, I strung the beads with some thick thread (from another old necklace) and connected the charms with wires, using pliers. After that, I decided that I wanted to make it more layered so I added a chain above the charms.

And that’s it!

A totally unique and stylish statement necklace, for the price of… pretty much nothing! And there are so many different things you can try with this necklace too, like using ribbons, fabric flowers, buttons, lockets, old watches, rings… the list goes on. Fabulous.

Now go rock it!

Tags: , , ,

