Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Another year is upon us, which means people everywhere are proclaiming their lofty personal goals amidst the chiming of clocks and champagne glasses. Well, I don’t know about everyone else, but I can’t recall a time I’ve ever kept a New Year’s resolution. I think that by labeling a goal as such, you’ve already set yourself up for failure. The phrase “New Year’s resolution” just adds so much more unnecessary weight to it, and the added pressure only makes you even more prone to dreading and avoiding whatever it is you’ve vowed to do for the next 365/6 days.

So what about me this year? I do have my goals and things I’d like to work on in the new year, but I’m not calling any of them a resolution. In addition to the usual health-related things like going to the gym, eating healthy, and flossing every night, I’ve decided to give myself a fun New Year’s challenge that I’d actually enjoy doing. I call it the Daily Post-It Art Project: I will make a drawing on a post-it note every single day in 2010. All kinds of post-its are in, any size, shape, or color. And I will post all my drawings here on my blog so you guys can make sure I’m not slacking off. Sounds like fun? I hope so :) First one tomorrow!

Even though I’m not making one, just thinking about resolutions did make me ponder the things I’d like to accomplish in life. A few nights ago, while at dinner at a family friend’s house, the host asked me “十几啦?”, which roughly translates to “what year in your teens are you?” I looked a little embarrassed as I reluctantly told him that I was actually 20. I’ve been sort of avoiding thinking about this fact since the monumental birthday, but as a new year and decade is nearing I’ve finally decided to give some thought to my future. So I’ve made this list of 100 things I’d like to accomplish before I turn 30/ in the next 10 years. Some of the things are small and seemingly insignificant (i.e. make my own terrarium), while others are not (i.e. become a doctor), but all are important to me. I’m very much looking forward to checking things off that list and I hope that the new year brings me many chances to do just that.

Happy 2010 everyone.

Tags: ,

