Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

One of my high school friends posted this message on my Facebook wall today: “Have I told you how jealous I am of you recently?” I was startled at first, wondering what he could possibly be jealous of. Then I remembered. New York.

I’m in New York, one of the greatest cities in the world. Yet, I constantly find myself forgetting what an amazing city I’m currently living in, and what amazingly bright and talented peers surround me here at Columbia. It’s so easy to take these things for granted when they’re just part of your every day life, but I really should stop once in a while to appreciate them.

Take this weekend for example. Classic New York weekend. On Thursday I went to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade. Despite having to get up early and brave the crowds, I still love this annual tradition, since it makes me (and, I’m pretty sure, all the other adults there) feel like a kid again.

Sailor Mickey makes an appearance!

Other floats included Spiderman, Hello Kitty, Shrek, Snoopy, and the Pillsbury Dough Boy (On a random note, I can do a pretty good Pillsbury Dough Boy laugh. But you’ll have to poke my belly in person.)

After the parade, we went to Magnolia Bakery, where I had the most delicious red velvet cupcake. As I walked down the street eating it, some guy who passed by me said to his buddy “Oh my god. Those are the best cupcakes ever!” and another lady asked me if it was good (the answer was, of course, affirmative). Mmmm now I’m craving one again.

Then last night, we went skating at Bryant Park with the Society of International Undergraduates at Columbia. Now, confession #231: I don not know how to ice skate. Yeah yeah I’m Canadian and I do not know how to skate, shame on me. But I did try to learn last night! It was really a lot of fun and I think I will be going again soon. And learning how to skate will be added to my list of things to do over winter break.

This morning, for the sake of science (ok fine, it was for an assignment for Psychology class), my boyfriend and I went out for a walk with our clothes worn completely inside out. See below for how ridiculous this looked.

The assignment was to break a social norm and see how people would react. To our surprise, besides a few stares and chuckles, nobody really gave a hoot. I guess that’s just New York for ya. Nothing’s new or different here. If I were back home, I would probably be showered with comments and perhaps a nice old lady would kindly tell me that my clothes are worn the wrong way, and I would just smile sweetly and tell her that I knew that.

This brings me to a somewhat mixed conclusion about this city. It’s a great city, for sure, but just like all other big cities, it can be cold, uncaring, and impersonal, and a lot of the times, I don’t really like that. I guess you can’t have everything after all. So for now, I’m just going to enjoy everything that New York has to offer. And at least now I know that I can pretty much wear anything I want and not be judged, and it does feel kind of liberating.

Tags: , , , ,

