Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

So I’ve decided to add this new feature to my blog: DIY Saturdays! I can’t promise that I’m going to do it every week, but when I do have the time and the inspiration, I’ll try my best.

I love DIY. I’ve always loved making things with my hands and collecting what most people would consider garbage, in the hope that they will come in handy for a future project (when I was younger, this used to annoy my mother. A lot. She hated the clutter in my room and named me the CEO of the garbage collecting company). But I mean, what’s not to love about DIY? It’s super fun, it’s economic, you save the planet by using stuff that would otherwise be thrown in to the trash, the things you make will be 100% unique, and when other people ask you where you got them, you can proudly say that you made them! It’s awesome.

So, onto this week’s project. It’s so simple that I hesitate to even call it a project at all. Remember those glass soda bottles I had lying around? Well, I thought that a collection would a bit too ambitious and needed another use for them. And so I made them into photo frames. All you need to do is find some clean, dry glass bottles and some photos. I used soda bottles but any kind of glass bottles or even jars would work, and colored glass would be pretty cool too. Just roll up your photo (make sure it’s the right size) and insert it into the bottle. Use a pen/stick/your finger to move it around until you’re happy with the position. And voila! You’re done! Totally neat. And it’s got the message in a bottle sentiment to it too. Put them on a windowsill or another source of light for added effect.

Tags: , ,

