Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Yesterday was quite a good day :) For lunch, my boyfriend and I went to one of my favourite restaurants in NYC, Aceluck, a tiny Thai restaurant in Hell’s Kitchen. So why do I like it so much? First off, I love the decor. The walls are painted in exactly my favourite shade of green, and everything is just so welcoming and fresh. The food is delicious with a generous portions that aren’t too much (I hate super sizing dishes), always fresh and tasty. Everything is also very reasonably priced, unlike a lot of other Thai restaurant. And the presentation of the food is nice too (sorry, I’m an aesthetic person). The service is really good as well, the servers are super nice and yesterday, since it was Halloween, our server brought over a trick or treat jar in which there were pieces of paper we drew from, and we got for free whatever was written on the paper. How cute is that? We got free Thai ice tea! And apparently they also have cheap happy hour drinks, but being under the US drinking age, we haven’t yet tried out that option.

P1080947

Our yummy ice tea :)

P1080948

Duck spring rolls. Hot and crispy.

P1080952

Chicken pad kee mao. Fresh and delicious with just the right amount of spiciness for me.

P1080953

Fried vanilla ice cream with raspberry sauce. The perfect way to finish off a meal!

If you’re ever in the area, this restaurant is highly recommended! One caveat though, I’ve only been there during the late lunch hours, so I have no idea how everything is during lunch or dinner rush, but I don’t expect it to be too different (perhaps a bit more crowded).

After lunch we went for a little walk in the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market, which is right across from Aceluck. I really enjoy flea markets and second hand stores, they’re always like a treasure hunt for me. It’s fun to think about the homes and the people that once held these objects and imagine what they were like. When I was still living in Quebec, my family used to go to this flea market every weekend, and my parents would allow me to get like a dollar or two’s worth of stuff there every time :) It was quite a difficult time for us back then, and a lot of our things in our home was bought from the market. In fact, it’s where half of our dinnerware came from even now. Sigh… good memories.

P1080958

Me trying on a hat!

Ok, on to more Halloween related things. I was really broke this year and had to cut back on my costume spendings, so I just wore a dress I already owned, bought a headband from Etsy, threw on some seashell jewelry, and tada! I’m an ocean princess :)

P1080978

Oh and you probably can’t tell from the picture, but I also wore blue contact lenses to match my dress. (A note on the contacts. The color they give is amazing, even on my dark dark brown eyes. Perhaps a bit too much though, for every day wear. Maybe I’ll go with grey or honey next time. But I’m note sure if there will be a next time since they’re not the most comfortable lenses and they kind of affect my peripheral vision. What a shame. Maybe I just need to find a better brand).

As we left to go to the NYC Halloween Parade, it started to rain. I was quite miserable in the beginning, since being in a very crowded area in the rain with no umbrella is not very pleasant. But after a while we found a nice little spot under the awning of a Japanese restaurant from where we could see the parade (me with the help of standing on the ledge against their window… I’m surprised the restaurant people didn’t come out and yell at me for giving their customers a nice view of my behind), and things picked up from there.

Some photos from the parade:

P1090041

P1090047

By the way, I want that yellow umbrella in the last picture. (How I Met Your Mother? Anyone?)

P.S.: Best costume I saw last night: a guy dressed as Russell (the little boy) from UP :) He even had a bunch of helium balloons attached to him. It made me smile.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

