Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

School is starting in one and a half weeks! And of course, being the academic student that I am, I’m starting to think of not my classes but of how I should decorate my dorm so I can have a cozy little nest for the next 8 months. Here are some of my ideas.

– Those stick on sheets that makes your window fuzzy and transluscent. Because I’ll be facing another building and I don’t want to be stared at by strangers when I’m listening to music while studying and begin to dance in my chair. Or to have to shut the blinds all the time because I need light to be in a good mood.

– Sheer fabric in cheery colors draped over my window. Hopefully it’ll make my mornings less dreary that way.

– Wall decals :) I alreadt bought 3 sets

P1080672

– A bar of soap from Ten Thousand Villages. They’re the bestest smelling soaps I have ever… smelt. I’m not even going to use it,  I just want one sitting in my room so it’ll smell fresh and lovely all the time :) And I love Ten Thousand Villages. They sell awesome fair trade artisan crafts and products from third world countries in Asia, Africa, and Latin America. Now if only there was a store in NYC.

– A nice soft rug or a beach towel on my floor.

– More pillows/cushions.

– Night light(s)

– More art prints and posters. Empty white walls need to be banished!

– Pictures strung on twine and wooden clothe pins. Or they could be incorporated into one of the wall decals I got.

– And of course my cardboard box wrapped in plastic table cloth nightstand that I had last year :)

I think that’s about it for now. Phew… it seems like a rather large project to do all that. Hopefully there won’t be too much school work to begin with so I have some time to work it out. I hate move-in. And move-out. There needs to be a better system for this :/

Oh and if anyone can tell me how to take out my contacts with really long fingernails please let me know. I don’t particularly like the sensation of poking myself in the eye with one finger. Sigh… I think the nails are going to have to go soon.. I can’t do anything right with them.

Tags: ,

