Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

First of all, my apologies for not updating this blog for the past week or so, but it’s not my fault! It was pretty much impossible to do since I realized that the neighbour’s wireless network is very spotty and unreliable, and that every time I wanted Internet I had to search on the balcony for 15 minutes before I get some signal that has 0 bars, and that I can’t move even an inch or else that despicable red X appears over the Internet icon.

But now that I’m back in Beijing, I’m finally replying to the Facebook messages I’ve been neglecting and catching up on reading my favourite girly gossip blog. Ah… life is good once again.

That doesn’t mean life wasn’t good in Sanya. It was awesome. I think it might have become one of my favourite cities. I got my wish for good weather and it was sunny skies every single day I was there. Where to even begin to tell of the time I spent there? I got very tanned, I ate fruits I never even knew existed, I was knocked down by waves and drank more than a couple of gulps of sea water, I had nearly every meal with an ocean view, I saw some of the most gorgeous beaches I’ve ever seen, I was tickled to death by tiny fish in a hot spring… there’s just too much. But it needs to be shared. So here it is, the best of Sanya, forever tropical paradise.

P1080278

Yalong Bay. The best beach in all of Sanya, also the location of most of the hotels and resorts. The water is very nice, albeit the waves were quite big at times, and the sand is so fine it feels like I was walking in flour. It was a beautiful sunny day when I went there, and hence, I had the most terrible tan lines (and a red, sun-burnt nose) after. But it was well worth it.

P1080323

P1080310

Tianya Haijiao. Literally, it means “edge of the sky, corner of the sea,” meaning the end of the earth kind of thing. It’s a bunch of rock formations along the beach, some with carvings on it, nothing too special in itself. But it’s probably the most iconic tourist spot in all of Hainan, and it has romantic connotations and is mentioned in many famous poems. Oh, and they had some really cute topiary there, like this whale couple:

P1080343

Aww :)

P1080401

P1080424

Now, this is one of my absolute favourites: Wuzhizhou Island. It’s a 20-minute boat ride away from the coast of Sanya, and it’s so gorgeous there. They’re building a resort on the island right now, and it should be finished in time for my honeymoon… hahah… just kidding. Or maybe not, the place is totally honeymoon-worthy.

P1080534

This is the reason why I was tickled to death by tiny fish. We went to one of the hot springs, and one of the specialty pools there had these fish that live in waters of about 43 degrees centigrade and eat the dead skin from your body. It tickles like hell, which is why I have such a huge smile on my face in that photo because I was trying my best to not burst into a laughing fit (you can also see the aforementioned tan lines, compounded by older tan lines). Also at the hot springs, they had a mud pool, and you’re supposed to cover yourself in mud (it’s a special kind of mud) because it’s good for your skin. Now, I was debating whether or not I should put this photo up here, since it might ruin my image forever, but for sensationalism’s sake, here it is.

P1080520

Well, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

So that’s it, a brief look into my stay in Sanya :) I will come back one day, just to sit on that lovely balcony looking out to the blue blue ocean, sipping coconut juice with the sea breeze in my hair, with nothing to worry about except the problem of which of the sea shells I picked up to keep.

P1080569

Tags: , ,

