Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Hainan Map

So I’m in Sanya now, the southernmost city in China, situated on the island province of Hainan. It’s a beautiful place here, very tropical and beachy (it’s roughly on the same latitude as Hawaii), which I absolutely love. The apartment where I’m staying, which is a vacation home my aunt bought for my grandparents, is right next to the beach too.

P1080193

The apartment complex is very nice, almost resort-like, with several pools downstairs and palm trees everywhere.

P1080189

We have a huge wrap-around balcony as well, and the view is excellent. We put the coffee table and a couple of chairs out there so we can eat our meals in style :)

P1080205

Today I didn’t do much besides going shopping for some basic food and supplies. I also went down to the beach, and my goodness are there a lot of sea shells there, the most I’ve seen on any beach I’ve been to. I need to come back one morning to do some serious beachcombing :)

A note about the transportation here. A lot fewer cars than many other cities in China, and people actually drive relatively close to the speed limit and stay on their own lanes. Also, motorized tricycles are everywhere and act like taxis to take you anywhere you want. They seat 2 people and cost around 1-3 RMB per trip. I love riding in them because the view is excellent and the wind feels great.

P1080202

I saw the most beautiful sunset this evening, but I was in the shower and thus couldn’t take a picture. I hope there will be another during my stay there… and I’m also praying that there will be at least one sunny day, because I really need some blue sky and sunshine to go with my beach :)

Tags: , ,

