Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited about so many current and upcoming movies :)

First, there is (500) Days of Summer, which I’ve been dying to see since I read about it months ago. It’s gotten really good reviews from both critics and viewers, so I’m even more excited to see it now, which I will do as soon as I get back to New York.

Then, there is Hayao Miyazaki’s latest masterpiece, Ponyo, which will be released in the US on August 14. I know I know, I’m almost 20, and it’s an animated movie, not to mention the old-fashioned 2-D kind. But I love, love, love Miyazaki’s films. Some people call him the Disney of Japan, but in my humble opinion, he’s superior in many ways. For instance, the Miyazaki’s portrayal of good and evil is not so black and white as in Disney movies, which I think is misleading and unrealistic. I also love that Miyazaki features strong, intelligent female leading characters who often have to get through hardships using their own ingenuity and courage, as opposed to the traditional princesses in Disney. I can go on… but I won’t. I’m just really super excited about this movie.

Next, the movie adaption of Alice Sebold’s beautiful novel The Lovely Bones comes out on December 11. I read the book back in high school and loved it, and the movie looks very promising (see the trailer that’s just been released here).

Next, Sherlock Holmes comes into theatres on December 25. Okay, so admit I never read the books by Sir Conan Doyle. But everyone knows the stories of Holmes. The trailer looks amazing, and Rachel McAdams is in it, and I think she’s awesome.

Alright, the good stuff keep coming for 2010. Based on the beloved tales of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland will be released on March 5. Carroll’s masterpieces remains two of my favourite books of all time (yes… I do realize that I’m almost 20. But they’re not just innocent children’s books. There are a lot of dark underlying themes, play on logic, mathematical references… not to mention that many scholars believe that Carroll was most likely intoxicated when he wrote Alice). Oh and did I mention that it’s directed by the amazing Tim Burton? And who else but Johnny Depp to play the Mad Hatter? It’s gonna be epic.

Ok, that’s it for now :) So excited!

While I’m on the subject of entertainment, let me just say that I’m falling in love with Green Day all over again. 21st Century Breakdown, another rock opera like American Idiot, is an excellent, excellent album. I don’t know why I never got around to listening to it until last night, but once I did I was reminded of why I was hooked on this band in the first place. Yeah, Green Day has a different sound than it used to in the 90’s, and a lot of people don’t like it because of that. But the world has changed, and with it, their music has evolved as well. This is what makes them a great band – they remain relevant to the changing times. And there’s nothing more relevant than, according to Billie Joe Armstrong himself, a “snapshot of the era in which we live as we question and try to make sense of the selfish manipulation going on around us, whether it be the government, religion, media or frankly any form of authority.” And I really do love the concept of a rock opera, because to me, what all forms of art should ultimately achieve is to tell a story, and albums like this one does precisely that. Some critics complain that the story is too vague and unfocused, but I think that’s precisely the beauty of it. It’s not just any story. It could be anyone’s story. What the story is depends on the listener, who completes the story where the band leaves it; it is only in the listener’s imagination that the story comes to life.

So if you get a moment, go check out the album on Youtube or something. I must go get the CD now. And I’m very very sad to say that I’ve missed both of Green Day’s Vancouver and New York tour dates… they’re supposedly one of the best live bands (can’t say that for many musicians today). Perhaps another day.

Tags: , ,

