Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

What if
The world had no colors
Would you
Still see the tan lines on my shoulders
And how would I know
When the cookies I baked for us
Are golden brown

What if
The world had no scents
Would you
Still notice
When I spritz perfume in my hair
On Valentine’s Day
And what would I do
When on a sleepless night
I need to breathe in your skin
To lull me to slumber

What if
The world had no light
Would you
Still trace your fingers
Along the curve of my neck
Against the pale pale wall
And where would I find you
If your hand accidentally slips from mine
In a crowded subway car

What if
The world had no words
Would you
Still be listening
When I tell you that I want to go to the museum
On Saturday
And how would I start
That same senseless argument
That neither of us ever wins

What if
The world had no music
Would you
Still recognize our song
When it comes on the radio
And what would I march to
When I walk down the aisle
On our wedding day

Would you?

(If you would
Then I would find a way)

Tags:

