Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

And by that, I am referring to the following photo:

P1070687

This morning my mom and I went to this theme park called 洋人街, which roughly translates to “foreigner town” in the same sense of Chinatown in western countries. I saw these statues with the sign outside a restaurant and it just cracked me up (although the word “comrade” continues to be used by officials of the Communist party, it is much of a satirical term in colloquial language now). As for rides, I wasn’t really feeling like them, so I only went on the swing (my favourite… yes go ahead, call me a wimp. I cry like a baby on anything that turns me over more than 45 degrees from its upstanding position).

Last night we went down to the boardwalks by the Yangtze River to view the night scenery.

P1070631

It was quite beautiful and the sight was reminiscent of the view from the Bund in Shanghai. Speaking of Shanghai, it is one of my favourite places in the world. It is far cleaner and more cosmopolitan city than the capital Beijing and in many ways I like it much better. It is a beautiful city with great architecture, great public transit (the metro is excellent), great shopping… I just love it. I’ve only been there once but I would love to go back. The World Expo is going to be held in Shanghai next year and I’m going to try my best to be there next summer :)

Tags: , ,

