Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

It’s been a really long day of going to places and although there certainly are enough to write a full blog post, I’m too tired to do so. So I’m going to keep it short and sweet today. There are a number of things that I’m having a difficult time adjusting to here in China; I have not been back in 4 years and I guess I’ve grown accustomed to life in North America. So here I present the top 10 things in China I’m not used to:

10. No taxes or tips. Ever. For anything.
9. Not wearing seat belts in taxis.
8. The little ledge over almost every doorway. I’ve already tripped over them way too many times.
7. Public bathrooms. Squatting “toilets” + no toilet paper + no soap + unkept floor = not fun.
6. Being greeted with a puff of hot humid air whenever I step outside.
5. Actually feeling kind of tall when among others.
4. How cheap everything is. Especially when I keep converting the prices into dollars.
3. The lack of drinking water fountains.
3.a. Not being able to order ice water in restaurants (except really upscale ones).
2. Loss of meaning of the term “personal space” in public.
1. Being overwhelmed by the vast number of options of delicious Chinese food at my fingertips, yet at the same time, I’m kind of craving a good old cheeseburger.

Tags: ,

