Skip to content

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

Chongqing Map

So I’ve begun my stay in Chongqing now, today being my first full day here. Chongqing is a mountainous region on the Yangtze River, and one of the hottest cities in China during the summer season. With the humidity added, it’s nearly unbearable to go outside for extended periods of time. The invention of air conditioning has never felt more necessary and I’ve been drinking crazy amounts of water to keep myself from being dehydrated. One thing noticeably missing from Chongqing, compared to most other cities in China, is the presence of bicycles. This is because of topography of the region; steep slopes and stairways everywhere make the place very inaccessible to bikes. The dialect here is also very difficult to understand and few people speak standard Mandarin, but my parents seem to get it so I guess I’ll just have to stick with my parents wherever I go. On a brighter side, my dad’s apartment is much more spacious than my grandparents’ in Beijing (where real estate is more costly), and I love my room :)

P1070399

Today we went to the downtown area and saw some sights. First we went to the area around the People’s Liberation Monument, and lo and behold what do I find? One of my favourite street foods ever – lamb kabob!! So obviously I had to get one :) It was sooo good.

P1070404

Then we went to the Great Hall of the People, which is a magnificent structure.

P1070500

There was a museum right across from there and it was free and open to the public, so we went in and took a look. They had exhibits about the natural and social history of the area and of China in general, and it was really nice and quite large, and we didn’t even get to see all the exhibits before they shut down for the day.

P1070496Exhibit of the different ethnicities in the region.

Ok… I was going to write some more about the food here, but I’m super tired and uploading pictures is taking forever. So I think I’m just going to have a special post about food later on because I’m sure there will be plenty to write about. Aight bed time! Zoo tomorrow :)

Tags: , , , ,

